Concealed carry permits on the rise in DFW suburbs

 
According to a story in the Dallas Morning News, permits for the concealed carry of handguns are on the rise in Dallas/Fort Worth area suburbs. The story also says that the number of women obtaining permits is up 40% over the previous high in 1996.

The article also contradicts the left’s stereotype that those seeking permits are somehow anti-government extermists.

Although the number of Texas handgun licenses issued last year spiked to nearly 139,000 from about 86,000 in 2008, Bateman said he didn’t attribute that to Obama’s election or national Democrats’ policies but to gut fears for personal safety.

“They’re not scared the government is going to take their guns away,” he said. “That’s part of the hype that goes around. They’re more scared of their houses being broken into, carjackings, things like that.”

When concealed carry permits first became available to the public in Texas, those seeking permits were “really hard-core hunters, hard-core Second Amendment folks.” according to former state Rep. Ray Allen, R-Grand Prairie who helped to write the state’s original concealed carry law. Now, however, the demographics of those seeking permits have changed and broadened.

This mirrors my own experience with concealed carry. The law allowing Concealed Handgun Licenses in Texas was written in 1995. At the time, I was unaware of the law and remained so for many years. Only within the past couple of years did I become aware of the presence of the Concealed Handgun License. At the time, I was indifferent. My belief in individual liberty and the second amendment meant that I was supportive of law-abiding citizens right to obtain and use these licenses. However, I had no desire to obtain one for myself. At some point, I can’t really say when, I decided that I might like to get my CHL. Now I have it.

About chlchronicles

Concealed Handgun License holder in Texas.
This entry was posted in commentary, news and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

